I don’t know what I’m doing…

Around this time, high-schoolers (including me) are starting to think about what they’re going to do over the summer. Summer camp apps are almost due, and as always, I’m just starting to fill them out. Most of the summer camps that my parents deem “useful” are ones held at prestigious colleges, so of course, there’s a higher level of competition to get in. For the past week, I’ve been writing essays for one of these competitive camps and, while faced with the prompts about my “hopes and dreams” and a resume that I need to submit, I realized… wow, I don’t know what I’m doing.

Whenever I’m asked what my interests are and what I want to do in the future, I say that I want to write; doesn’t matter about what, I just want to write. As a kid, I learned how to write an essay faster than I memorized the multiplication table, which is kind of sad now that I think about it. Anyway, English is my preference, and when I looked at what I’ve been doing for the past few years in terms of writing, I felt like I wasn’t doing enough to expand that interest. So, that’s basically why I’m starting this blog: to put my thoughts out there and hope someone reads it. (and also out of guilt from reading other all-around perfect applications haha)

 

Leave a Reply

